The National Recruitment Agency, or NRA, is a body set up by the union government to conduct the Common Eligibility Test (CET). The CET National Recruitment Agency is the preliminary exam for job applicants looking for jobs listed under the Institute of Banking Service Personnel (IBPS), Staff Selection Commission (SSC), and Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) departments. The candidates applying for non-technical Group B and Group C posts under the departments listed above need to pass the CET test of NRA, followed by various selection procedures decided upon by the individual departments. Read more about CETNRA, Exam Pattern, Recruitment Process etc in this blog.

CET National Recruitment Agency- FAQ

What is the CET of the National Recruitment Agency?

The government has established the National Recruitment Agency as the primary body to conduct the Common Eligibility Tests for various ministries and public sector bodies. Formed under the Societies Registration Act, the NRA will hold the CET as a part of the recruitment process for various posts under several government departments.

2. Who constitutes the NRA?

The NRA consists of members or representatives from the Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Railways, and various other departments.

3. How do candidates benefit from the NRA CET?

Appearing for the NRA CET will benefit candidates in various ways. By appearing for the CET, candidates will not have to appear for several agencies’ examinations to get government jobs. The Common CET for various Government Jobs will eliminate the separate application fees, other expenses, and time. It will also make the preparation process easier to tackle by reducing the number of individual examinations. With several exam centers across the country, candidates will not have to travel long distances to appear for the exam.

4. What are the steps involved in the NRA Recruitment Process?

The CET stands for the Common Eligibility Test, an online examination held to screen candidates for various non-gazetted posts under different central government departments. After qualifying through the CET, candidates will be called for Tier 2 and Tier 3 examinations conducted by the individual departments.

4. How many Common Eligibility Tests does the NRA hold in a year?

The NRA is set to conduct at least two CETs in one year with various examinations for candidates with different educational qualifications. The qualifications required for NRA CET are 10th pass, 12th pass, and Bachelor’s Degree.

5. Where are the exam centres for the CET located?

The NRA will set up exam centres in approximately 117 districts across the country to hold the CET.

6. Does the CET have a limit for the number of times candidates can appear?

There are no restrictions on the number of times candidates are allowed to appear for the CET, granted candidates fall under the required maximum age limit.

7. What is the language of the NRA CET?

The NRA will hold the CET in several languages to make it more accessible to candidates from all over the country.

8. What are the eligibility criteria required for the CET?

The NRA will have a maximum age limit that candidates must meet, with relaxations for candidates belonging to specific categories like SC, ST, OBC, etc. They must have the educational qualifications specified for each post. The minimum educational qualification includes Bachelor’s degree, 12th pass, or 10th pass.

9. What is the CET exam pattern?

The NRA expects to release a standard syllabus and exam pattern for the CET based on the minimum educational qualifications required for the posts.

10. Can candidates choose the exam center for the CET?

Yes, candidates are allowed to choose the CET exam center according to their choices, subject to availability.  

11. Does the CET score have validity?

Yes, the scores secured by candidates in the CET are valid only for three years. Candidates may be permitted to reappear for the exam if they wish to improve their performance.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here